Employment Benefits

Employment Perks


  • 12 hour shifts with 3 days off every other weekend for sworn personnel
  • Employee fitness center on site
  • Opportunities for career advancement
  • Uniforms and equipment are provided

Employment Benefits

  • Credit Union membership
  • Deferred Compensation 457/401a optional retirement plan with an employer match
  • Flexible Spending Accounts for medical & dependent care
  • Group & Optional life insurance
  • Short & Long Term Disability
  • Medical, Dental, & Vision Insurance
  • Membership in VRS (Virginia Retirement System: see below for further details)
  • Other additional voluntary benefits
  • Tuition reimbursement

Virginia Retirement System

  • Sworn Personnel enrolled in the Law Enforcement Officer Supplement (LEOS) option are eligible for retirement at age 50 with 25 years of service.
  • Full time non-sworn employees may retire at age 50 with 30 years of service.

Flexible Leave Hours


  • 0-4 Yrs—20 Days/Year
  • 5-9 Yrs—23 Days/Year
  • 10-14 Yrs—26 Days/Year
  • 15+ Yrs—29 Days/Year

11 Paid Holidays


2017 Holiday Schedule

  Holiday Date
  New Year's Day Monday, January 2 (Observed)
  Lee-Jackson Day
Friday, January 13
  Martin Luther King Day Monday, January 16
  President's Day Monday, February 20
  Memorial Day Monday, May 29
  8 hours additional holiday time
Monday, July 3
  Independence Day Tuesday, July 4
  Labor Day Monday, September 4
  Columbus Day Monday, October 9
  Veteran's Day Friday, November 10 (Observed)
  4 hours additional holiday time
Wednesday, November 22
  Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 23
  Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 24
  4 hours additional holiday time
Friday, December 22
  Christmas Day
​Day After Christmas
Monday, December 25
​​Tuesday, December 26